Help on valuation - 1950 Juzek?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Chris Wilke, Jun 23, 2021.

1. Chris Wilke

Chris Wilke

May 28, 2015
    Seattle
    Hi all- This is my first (I think) DB forum post, though I have been playing for over 50 years. Lately I have been focused on electric bass, but I am wanting to get DB chops back up soon.

I have not used my 1950 Juzek plywood 3/4 ("Made in Germany, formerly of Prague") very much for the last few years, and it is clearly in need of a setup and sound post adjustment. Maybe more work will be needed if the luthier recommends it, which has me a little worried (financially) though I am not opposed to doing it if it gets me to a good place with this instrument. Last time it was in the shop was over 10 years ago, and it got some minor body repairs, a new bridge, new end pin, new soundpost, Thomastik strings, and more (about $1500 altogether)

I am hoping to get an approximate reference on the value of this bass before making any major decisions on repair. A rough estimate of this bass in good working order is all I am looking for.

Body/finish is in decent condition, with signs of age/character, but currently in the well-maintained/ recently-restored window. Action is good for most of the range, except a bit high/not great for anyone inclined to use thumb position on D G strings (this is the part that has me worried).

Bass sounds solid, fairly bright and warm (ie not boomy), and seems to work well for jazz, with its Underwood pickup and through a quality amp- although it is the only bass I have owned in 35 years or so, so I don't really know what I am missing out on.

Thoughts on evaluating this bass for repair/setup potential vs doing a quick sound post positioning and selling it/trading for another?

Thanks for any help!

View attachment 4311864

Last edited: Jun 23, 2021
  2. zootsaxes

zootsaxes Supporting Member

Mar 6, 2015
    Memphis, TN