1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

help - opinions on recent purchase

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by letstalkbassman, Jun 27, 2012.

1. letstalkbassman

letstalkbassman

Jun 26, 2012
    hi all you fellow bassists! 1st post:

little background I am a guitarist turned bassist/drummer.

been playing music for over 30 years in various bands and settings - recently due to more and more requests for my bass playing skills I decided I needed something more suitable
    than my line6 lowdown 110 - so I wandered into my local music shop and did something I don't normally do...

I bought a bass amp without any research.:rolleyes:

Ampeg Portbass 250 with the matching 210 cab.

it's a decent sounding amp but I have to run it all out to get the volume I need and it still falls a little short especially when you consider there is no headroom left:meh:

that is not nessesarily the prob I need help with.

The music shop charges me $1000 for the head and cab.

They made it seem like a deal ($750 lower than sticker price)

then I did my research and discovered - this amp is discontinued and can be had at a fraction of the cost used.
    duh..but the local music store will allow me to make payments
    so thats how I got into this...

It is a nice amp but $1000 worth of amp ?

My question to you fine folks is should I try to take it back?

It's been about a month - but I know the shop owner personally - he would take it back but with much reluctance.

I tried to make them a deal and have them order me something else so my business stays local but all they have coming in is the the bugera NUKE 3600 and don't want that thing.

Should I take it back - losing my $250 down payment
    or keep it knowing I bought $500 worth of gear for $1000

what would you do?

I am looking at the carvin bx1500 but if I take the ampeg back