help out a desperate bassist

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fadel, Jun 6, 2003.

1. Fadel

Jun 6, 2003
    I am going to buy a bass... I dont have anyone to guide me and i am not that experienced.

i wont be able to try the bass myslef because there arent any places here that sell basses or at least different kinds... im having it ordered. but as for quality, i can have someone try it for me.

this will be my second bass. first good bass i hope.

so far i am basically going by two things. it's look and it's price.

however a lot of basses satisfy these two standards of mine and i cant make a decision.

at first i liked an esp bass (attached) but then i went to their website and noticed that all the people ..famous people that use esp are metalheads.
    metal is a style that is famous for its rootnote basslines... how horrible.. so i dont know if that should be a sign.

i came across an faq and a question asked "what is the best bass?" the answer was that there is no such thing blah blah blah... but here is a list of the best... esp wasnt on it... and it was a pretty long list.

so my guess is i have to also go by reputation.

because these are some things that are not written in the specs.

...right now i dont know what i want to play.. i want a bass that would allow me to play almost anything...

i also dont know if i should be getting a 4 string or a 5 string. the common answer to this question is, it comes back to what I need.
    the problem is i dont know.
    i am not at a level that can allows me to decide.. i have never touched a 5 string before and i dont know how useful or how different it can be.

the 5 string issue is not my major problem... i can just stick with 4 strings no problem.