Help please I feel overwhelmed and depressed( need help on how, what to practice)

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Libersolis, Jan 14, 2006.

1. Libersolis

Sep 9, 2004
    Austin, TX
    Some of you may already know, but back in July I started playing one of the best, if not the best gig in SC, a great place for jazz, and an even better town for bass players. I started taking bass lessons from a great player and teacher when I moved here in May, and he offered me the gig in July (which he just happens to play a very fine piano on.)

If you have ever worked with him, you know that he is a very demanding and well organized band leader, the best I have ever played with. I am always on edge, because I know something about my playing isn't up to snuff, and sooner or later I am going to hear about it during and after the tunes.
    My main problem initially was time. Being the first drummerless gig on acoustic that I have ever played, I learned alot about what good time is. I was able to improve my time drastically through work with the metronome on a daily basis and now, while ceartainly not perfect, my time is actually getting good.

With time issues resolved for the most part, He now wants me to take my playing to the next level. (the bassists who have played there and have taken lessons from him all sound phenominal and are well accomplished in this area) I want to take my playing to the next level, and listening to many great bass players makes me understand what the next level is. Someone who knows the bass well, has great time and intonation, listens and intereacts with his bandmates, has a great sense of form, melody and harmony, and has a decent number of tunes memorized as well as having a consistent tone and solid technique and also shows up to the gig with a positive attitude ready to take advice and criticism when needed( there have I covered everything?)