Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help profile me for strings!

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by lermgalieu, Jun 25, 2002.

1. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    Ok - so I have been playing DB for roughly 4 years and have used three sets of strings. I like certain aspects of two of the sets, and am pondering a gut hybrid string. However, they are obviously expensive and am looking for your views of my experience and your guess as to what I would like.

I have a fairly cheap, newer Glaesel laminated bass. I play jazz, rock, and misc (and very occasionally bluegrass) tunes in a fairly loud setting - B3, 2 guitars, drums. Very infrequently I do a jazz trio thing with bass, drums, and piano.

I want something I can bow down the road, but I don't play much if any arco currently.

My string experiences:

1) Heliocores - they seemed ok, but a bit raspy and not anough growl for me. However, this was before my bass was properly set up so I could be wrong.

2) Obligatos - I like the definition and the general tone of these, but I wanted more of a jazzy growl on the strings, and a better amplified tone. Also, in thumb position these seem to sound a little plunky, tho it could be my technique ;-)

3) Labella tapewounds - I think I like these best so far, but unamplified they aren't very loud OR growly. While you get those aspects back when amplified, I would prefer something a bit meatier and more defined unamplified.

Over the weekend, I took the LaBellas off and put the Obligatos back on just to see (except with the Heliocore G since the Obligato fell apart). So far, other than getting my thumb torn up on that Heliocore G, they are 'ok' but I would probably prefer to return to the LaBellas until I find/can afford a set of gut hybrids like the Velvets (Garbo?) or the Pisrastro (Oliv?).