1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help! Push/pull volume knob came out of my Lakland 44-01!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Rush-2112, May 27, 2011.

1. Rush-2112

Rush-2112

Dec 14, 2008
    New York City
    So I was tweaking the volume on the push/pull knob on my 44-01, and then I pull for passive, and the entire knob comes out! I can put it back in and the volume works fine, but no longer can I do passive, it's now permanently on active. Here are some pics:

I can put the knob back in, and it looks normal

[​IMG]

Here's how it looks when I try to do passive and it comes out

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

This is the first time I've ever experienced a problem with my bass. Can anyone tell me what I should do? I have no experience with issues like this, and am totally lost :help: Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

Looks like the shaft came loose and pulled out of the pot. You will need to replace that pot, or have it replaced.

Pot = potentiometer, a variable control the user adjusts by turning the knob.

3. Rush-2112

Rush-2112

Dec 14, 2008
    New York City
    I see...would you be able to tell me how expensive it might be to get it replaced? And would I just go to like Guitar Center or something so they can replace it? Thanks for the immediate response by the way

4. slaphappychappy

slaphappychappy

May 25, 2011
    i hate push/pull pots for this exact reason. I prefer a switch.
    By the way, love the colour of your bass, very tidy.

5. ChuckBro

ChuckBro

Dec 23, 2010
    Austin, Texas
    Hey Rush-2112 (Geddy's the man),