help reading tabs

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tillerbass, Jan 10, 2003.

1. Tillerbass

Tillerbass Guest

Jan 5, 2003
    ive been playing bass for a few months now, but i can't seem to play music from tabs very well. i know how to read the tabs and what everything on them means, but i can't ever seem to put the notes on the paper with the notes on the song and then put that note on my bass(did that make any sense?). i play the tabs with the song where they are supposed to go, but nothing seems to fit. are my tabs wrong? is it my ear? am i just an idiot?
  2. jade

Mar 8, 2002
    depending on where you got your tabs, tabs are usually wrong. whenever i read tabs i alway have to correct them.

is there any particular song you are trying to play that the moment?
  3. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    One of the major downfalls of tabs is their inability to show what types of notes you are supposed to play (quarter, eight, sixteenth, etc.). Knowing what length of note to play and the speed to play it at are very important in learning the proper way to play a song.
  4. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

One of the big challenges for a new musician who is learning to read either standard notation or tabs is to be able to look at what they are reading and figure out where that is in the song.

For example, if you have tabs to "For Whom the Bell Tolls," it may be difficult for you to know where each bar is in the song. As you attempt to read your tabs or notation, you must listen carefully to the song trying to identify where each bar ends. Until you do that, you cannot "read" your music or tabs because you really don't know where all those notes you are reading are. In other words all the notes in the song seem to be racing by and it is so hard to connect those notes with what you are reading.