1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help!!! Sadowsky experts!!!!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by djsplatmaster, Jun 29, 2007.

1. Hey Guys!,
    My names Raf. Im new to talk bass and Im looking for some help identifying a particular bass. I was told to come here from a friend of mine who is a talk bass regular so Im giving it a shot. I came across this bass that I LOVE but I dont know if it is a Sadowsky? I love the tone and everything about it. If anyone can help me out...Heres the link...
    http://music.aol.com/videos/sessions/sessions_flash
    Once there go to the "Sessions Archive" and search for Corinne Bailey Rae and view her videos to see the bass player and the bass that Im talking about.

Im seriously considering buying a bass just like the white one in the video. So is it a sadowsky?

Thanks!!!!!!!

2. Sean Baumann

Sean Baumann Supporting Member

Apr 6, 2000
    Livin' in the USA
    Pretty sure that is not a sadowsky, if you're talking about the white bass. Different headstock, different string tree. That said, it has that modern J vibe to me.

3. Brad Maestas

Brad Maestas Sono est omnia Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Nov 26, 2003
    Petaluma, CA, USA
    Luthier and Instrument Tech at Kala Brand Music Co.
    Not a Sadowsky. There aren't any in-focus close ups of the headstock so I'm not sure what it is. The headstock on that one is very similar to a Fender.
    The Sadowsky headstock is different. It doesn't have a bulbous end. It has an edge to it.

4. Can anyone identify the bass?

5. Dude, I glanced at the headstock again, I see what your saying from one angle at first it looks like a Sadowsky but now the headstocks looking like a Fender...The thing is that Fenders are not known to be solid 5 strings...I don't think it's a Lakland because of the bridge...possibly a Fender Custom shop?