Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help! Slap bass?

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by CitricGuy, Oct 13, 2002.

1. When it comes to bass i started about 2 months ago.. sofar i know the basics and have the fretboard notes memorized and know all the basics in tuning etc.. but when it comes to slap bass, no matter how I try or how many guides I follow I can not get anything that even slightly resembles what it should. Is there a way I should have my bass tuned? My amp set differently (low/mid/high tones etc.)? Should i be hitting the strings in a certain place? I would really appriciate any feedback at all im at a complete loss here. I think slap and pop are amazing to listen to which is the reason I started playing but I just cant get those soulds out of my bass.

2. chris griffiths

chris griffiths

Aug 20, 2002
    nashville tn
    Endorsing artist: Gallien Krueger
    well I understand your actually asking steve and Michael and not me but I give bass lessons in boston and something that has helped a lot of my students it to strum the bass a bit and get a nice strumming motion using their thumb as a pick and picking up the intensity until bam a slap sound is produced. I've seen people do it differently when I slap I pick my thumb up from my hand and rotate it with a snap velocity at the wrist across the strings imitating the strumming pattern. the next thing to do is to work in a pop technique and you can alternate on a good bass line like the main theme to the ohio players love rollercoaster. take it slow keep it even have patience and results will come. and make sure you listen to more things then slap and pop
    Chris

3. Exactly what i was looking for, thank you!

4. AJ Love

AJ Love

Oct 8, 2002
    Madison WI USA