1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

HELP! Squier P Bass action problem!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Blackhawks55, Sep 27, 2013.

1. Blackhawks55

Blackhawks55

Jul 21, 2013
    I've been playing for about 5 months now, with what I'd like to call higher than normal action.. I did go into Guitar Center and have my bass set-up, and it was around $60, the tech there said the frets were buzzing a bit on the 12th fret and in some other higher registers.

Anyway, I am getting to really learn quite a lot on the bass.. but the problem I am having is playing fast runs/repetitive runs. I have tinkered with the action a bit, and it's fairly low right now but I've seen other setups that blow mine out of the park. I do get the fret buzz though on the higher frets if I lower it to much.

I will not mess with the truss-rod though.. I refuse to do that without any guidance. I'm not looking to upgrade to a Fender for a little while yet so my Squier is going to have to make way for a while.

Thanks so much, any help would be appreciated!

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    $60 for a bass setup is a rip off. It is worth learning how to do yourself. If it is buzzing on the higher frets, you need to tighten the truss rod. I would google it.

3. Shardik

Shardik

May 24, 2011
    Halden, Norway
    Well, the truss rod is one of the keys to proper setup. It controls the bow of the neck.

It is pretty simple: the strings pull the bowing of the neck in one direction, and the truss rod holds it back.

Always loosen the strings somewhat before adjusting the truss rod. Use only 1/4 turn for each adjustment before testing the change, 1/2 turn is A LOT.
    Tighten -> shorter rod -> straighter neck
    Loosen -> longer rod-> more bowed neck

...and before you even start: Check that bowing by visual inspection. You should never have a backbow.