help teaching double bass online

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by zj215, Apr 30, 2020.

1. zj215

zj215

Apr 9, 2020
    Hi I'm not very technically minded and struggling with working online, or rather I'm not sure I'm there yet. Can I ask for opinions as to the best set up to capture sound and visuals to teach double bass online.

I've got a 3/4 bass, it does have EMG pickups. I'm hoping to teach online some of my students. I do have a digital camera and I do have mic on a stand and a digital camera on a tripod. I'm not sure the best way to combine the two. I assume I'll use an interface then into my pc for the sound and a video feed into my pc for the video. I'll also need I think a lapel mic for voice.

I know I need to use some sort of platform like zoom.

I think this is how to do it. I'm wondering whether there are any tips or suggestions as to the best mic, not sure mine is that good. or whether there is something better than zoom?

thank you Ian

Eef Weenink likes this.
  2. Adam Booker

Adam Booker

May 3, 2007
    Boone, NC
    Endorsing Artist: D'Addario Strings, Remic Microphones
    You are on the right track regarding gear. I’ve been using Zoom, and this video is a “must watch.” Make sure both you and your students have Zoom audio set up according to these instructions.

3. This is a nice video as well.

4. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    @Michael Drost Jason's video is very good and I agree with the gear recommendations, but I don't think it addresses how to get the signal from the H6 into your phone and out to the student on the other end, and also how to plug the audio from the student into your headphones. The nice thing about the H6 is that it's a stereo recorder with a built in 4 track mixer and recorder, and having that interface with the video source is a crucial component.