1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

HELP! There's something wrong with my bass...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Amostar, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Amostar

Amostar

Apr 2, 2009
    So, I haven't played my bass in over a month, thanks to being too busy with university, and when I went to play it for some reason the frets closer to the head of the bass wouldn't give a clear note on the E or A strings, but they would most of the time on the D and G strings. They just make this gross noise that sounds like it's muted and I'm worried the neck of my bass is warped or something. has anyone ever had this problem, or know what might be wrong? I'm a beginner at this, and this is my second bass. The first one broke last summer, and I really can't afford a new one again. Please help me out if you can!

2. bassistgook

bassistgook

Feb 5, 2009
    Try new strings or have your setup checked.

3. wtf_is_a_bass

wtf_is_a_bass Guest

Aug 11, 2005
    Sydney, Australia
    Endorsing Artist: PiGLET picks
    The neck is bowed, meaning the tension of the strings have somewhat pulled the neck towards the bridge (or something like that). So what ends up happening is your overall action became a little higher above 5th fret and a little lower beneath 5th fret.

The same thing happened to my squier p bass ages ago. You need to have the truss rod loosened abit, the neck straightened out then have the truss rod re-tightened. Take it to a pro, the truss rod is sensitive. my mex jazz did the same thing yesterday and i will probably take it to the guitar shop on monday.

Hope this helps.

4. Amostar

Amostar

Apr 2, 2009