Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help!! Tube Question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Scott_Petersen, Jan 8, 2001.

1. Scott_Petersen

Scott_Petersen

Jul 25, 2000
    I have a Mesa 400+ (bought it new) that I've been playing through for 14 or 15 months, averaging about 4-6 hours per week. Lately I've begun to notice some popping and crackling so I tried all the possible combinations of speaker cales, instrument cables, inputs, outputs, and basses to try to isolate the problem. Nothing killed it, so I called Mesa to get some help. The guy there thought that it sounded like I had a tube going out but that it seemed pretty early for that to be happening.

Before I drop 200 bucks on new tubes I wanted to see if anyone out there could shed some more light on this for me or has any ideas of what else to check. I guess it would be a bit of a relief if it was just time to re-tube but I would hope that they would last longer than that.

Any help would be appreciated.

Scott

2. Sometimes tubes can have dirty sockets. And just giving them a little wiggle in the socket can help. If you find a dirty socket turn off the amp and push the tube in and out of the socket a few times.

3. spoolie

spoolie

Nov 30, 2000
    It it very likely it is just ONE tube and a preamp tube at that (less expensive than one of your 12 6L6s). Look on the Mesa Boogie web site, they have a good section on how to diagnose tube problems (by replacing one tube at a time). Good luck, I doubt you will have to retube the entire amp to get rid of pops and noise. If the power tubes are getting weak it's a more gradual degrading of tone and subtle distortion starts creeping in.

4. Scott_Petersen

Scott_Petersen

Jul 25, 2000
    Thanks for the responses, guys. I'll keep on it.

5. Scott,