1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help w/SWR Workingman's 12

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassjam99, Apr 21, 2010.

1. bassjam99

bassjam99

Apr 21, 2010
    Los Angeles
    Hi, I am a newbie and a beginning bass player and I was looking to pick up a SWR Workingman's 12 Combo amp. As I was doing my research, I came upon the comments from sellers regarding pre and post-fender models. My question is what is the difference between a pre-fender and a post fender WM 12? And which would be better assuming condition and price were the same. :bassist:

2. Doug Parent

Doug Parent Supporting Member

May 31, 2004
    San Diego, Ca.
    Dealer Nordstrand Pickups.
    Probably insignificant

3. JOME77

JOME77

Aug 18, 2002
    Georgia
    +1

It's just another example of the typical attitude that when a small company gets bought out by a larger company the quality always goes downhill.
    I doubt that you would notice any difference in the quality of a SWR WM12 combo. It is what it is. Just try to find one that's been cared for.

4. bassjam99

bassjam99

Apr 21, 2010
    Los Angeles
    Thanks for the input! :)

5. Frankie Fender

Frankie Fender Supporting Member

actually the older ones were 100 watts with a celestion speaker (I owned one) The newer ones do 120 watts and have a more generic speaker, not sure what it is.

Like the others said, no real big difference.

6. COBRARI

COBRARI

Apr 16, 2010
    Sacramento
    In my humble opinion...
    Save a couple more dollars and get the SWR Workingsman's 15.
    Why? Sooner than you might expect, you are going to get oppertunities to play in a band or "open mic" jams.
    The 15 @ 120 watts will push enough air in the room to make you happy. The 12 won't.
    The WM 15 is a great combo. The aural enhancer and transparency functions make it a good sounding unit.

7. bobcruz

bobcruz

Mar 10, 2004