Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help! What type of amp should I get?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bad Religion, Aug 19, 2001.

1. Okay, I've been playing the bass since November, so I am a beginner. Well, now I'm in a punk band, and I need a bigger amp. Right now I just have little Crate BX-15 amp, and obviously that isn't enough. I guess I'm just looking for something I can afford that can be heard over the drums and with the guitar. I don't want top of the line, but I do need something bigger and soon too, b/c I really wanna be able to hear myself when I play. What would be the best bet to get? Thanks for any replies.

2. bad religion rock. check out carvin.com. ure in the same position as me, and i recently got an 18inch woofer from them direct, and im just waiting till i get the money for the redline 1000 watt.nice.

3. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    Yeah dude, check out carvin.com, killer prices on club filling rigs. if you want to be heard over drums well, do what i did, find the cheapst 4x10 cabnit you can, then get at least a 100 watt(To match a rock drummer) or 200 watt head if you play some gigs that need a little more power. also, if your guitarst has only a 50 watt amp, and he cranks it, you going to need 4 TIMES as much bass power to be heard (200 watts). but he probly dosnt crank, so no worrys. just thought id let you know about the guitar amp, bass amp, power ratings.

4. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    Look at the Peavey Combo 115. Great combo, tons of bang for the buck too. 210 watts just normal, add an extension cab, and it's 300 watts. :)

5. FalsehoodBass

FalsehoodBass

Jul 22, 2001
    Denver, CO
    Hey, yea Bad Religion is rad.. Jay Bentley doesn't get enough respect.. he's rad.. listen to Better off Dead really closely... that guy's a badass..