1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help with 410 cabinet and low b

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cegrant, Apr 4, 2009.

1. cegrant

cegrant

Apr 4, 2009
    Buford, GA
    I have an Eden WT 800 going into an Eden 410 Xlt. The cab does not seem to handle the low b very well unless I turn the bass down to levels I'm not happy with. Any suggestions on a cabinet that can handle the low or at least sub 30hz useable frequency.

I am new to talk bass but not new to the bass

2. Nighttrain1127

Nighttrain1127 Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2004
    Near Worcester MA
    If you are boosting the bass so you can hear the fundamentals of the low b at useable sound levels you are overdriving your amp amd cab. Most bass( non botique) bass cabs start rolling off the low frequencies at around 50 hz and at 30 hz are well down below useable levels. You need a huge power amp and subs to make useable sound at 30 hz.

3. DukeLeJeune

DukeLeJeune rational romantic mystic cynical idealist Supporting Member Commercial User

Nov 24, 2008
    Princeton, Texas
    Owner & designer, AudioKinesis; Auth. mfg, Big E (Home Audio only)
    Welcome, cegrant!

My understanding is that the first few harmonics carry most of the energy of the very low notes, and that full-power reproduction of the fundamental is not required for correct pitch perception. The ear/brain system infers the missing fundamental from the harmonic sequence. This is good news, because reproducing very low frequencies at high levels requires very large boxes and/or very high power. In practice, full-power reproduction of the 62 Hz first harmonic of a low B will convey that note with authority. So I suggest that pursuing full-power output down to 31 Hz is not cost-effective.