Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help with backline buy

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassbully43, Jul 18, 2005.

1. bassbully43

bassbully43

Jul 1, 2005
    need help guys. I'm a amp noob and bought but have not picked up a used backline 250 head=125w with a 410 bxl bottom used one owner who bought it 3month ago at GC and brought it back ( he needed rent $$) it like new $379.00. I thought it was 200w but nooo its 125w i want to start playing out this fall and think it is maybe not enough watts now. I liked the backline 210 200w and can be 300 with another cab. Should i talk to GC and move up to the 210 or stick to what i have? Its in layaway and i wont pick it up for a couple of weeks the 250 combo plus i have 30 day return.Will i see enough diffrence in 75 more watts and 2-10s to 125 watts and 4-10's to make it worth it. Alot of guys around here say everything is miced or DI at all places they play so 125 is good enough...so confused help.

2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    Your grammer is so poor I'm not sure what you are asking. You seem to me to be asking if you should move "up" from a 410 to a 210 because it has a higher power rating???? If that's the case, then you are NOT moving "up" if playing live with more volume and coverage is your goal. The wattage rating of a cabinet is what it can handle from an amp, not what you get out of it.

If this is NOT what you are asking, then I don't understand your question. Sorry.

3. bassbully43

bassbully43

Jul 1, 2005