Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help with band writing originals.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by odie, Oct 4, 2002.

1. odie

odie Supporting Member

Well we just got a hard disk multi tracker and we're going to start writing originals. Problem is we've been doing the cover thing for a few years and havent done any originals as a group yet.

How do we get the mojo flowing??

Any advice on how to come up with an idea on bass and still convey an idea to the guitarist on what to do. I used to play guitar but Im a much better bassist.

2. Well when I write I usually start with a standard form. Like a I - IV - V or I - vi - ii - V. Then I build in scalor or chordal runs to make them intresting.

Don't get all hung up on using a lot of notes (roots), once you build the fundamental progression then you can expand the bassline.

Also, I tend to write in movements an A section (verse) and a B section (chorus). I also like to write varients in the sections, so it's not a straight ABAB or even a AABA so the form ends up something like A1-A2-B1-C-B2.

I have found that once you've developed a solid structure with strong rythmic components, the lyrics almost write themselves.

I forgot to mention I usually have a concept of what the song is about, (a story I want to tell) before I even pick up the instrument.

Sorry if I got longwinded, It's just how I write originals.

3. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin
    Bo knows originals.

4. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK