Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

help with buying bass, bass newb

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ugliertrevor, Aug 26, 2004.

1. ugliertrevor

ugliertrevor

Aug 26, 2004
    hey guys, ive been playing guitar for 3 years and have gotten somewhat bored of it. Im looking to buy a bass and have absolutely no clue about them. All i know is i am going to be playing metal/prog and would like a 5 string. really would like that kindof metallic sound that Justin from tool works with. and im not looking to spend alot more than 400, since its my first bass. thanks, and if there arent very good basses with the sound i am looking for under 400, then just suggest a bass. thanks guys, and if i said something stupid please no flame, im a total newb to bass.

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

3. ApeIsHigh81

ApeIsHigh81

Aug 24, 2004
    CA
    I say go nice used Ibanez or even something like a slightly banged up used Lakland skyline 5501 on ebay. That would be awesome although probably a tad over 4.

4. I would find something that you really like and then pay to have it set up correctly by a competent tech.

Good Luck!
    Jeff

5. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    Don't worry, you didn't say anything stupid ;). Not that we'd flame you if you had...

:bag:

Yeah, I'll second the suggestion for Ibanez. Try out the BTBs, and the Soundgears. I've played a few of the higher-end Soundgear basses, and they're pretty nice -- especially the SRX (soundgear "xtreme"). Despite the silly name, it's quite a piece of bass for the money.To be honest, I don't know what bass Justin uses, but he does get that sweet, sweet tone, now doesn't he? If I recall correctly, (IIRC,) he uses a pick to help get that aggressive, clear tone with lots of attack.

6. ugliertrevor

ugliertrevor

Aug 26, 2004