1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help with "clacking" of low strings

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Rusty Miesner, Aug 28, 2007.

1. I've been playing for about 2 years in live bands and I'm still working on timing and technique. When I don't use a pick, I get a bit of "clacking" on my Ibanez, but on my Fender Jazz 5-string I get heaps on the low strings. I've tried holing my right hand in different possitions, but the only way I can stop the loud clacking sound on every note is by playing very softly or fingering near the end of the string. The action is fairly low, but not excessive.
    I'd like to minimise the clacking sound somehow.
    Any help would be appreciated.

2. Alexvs

Alexvs

Oct 18, 2000
    Kalmar, Sweden
    Is the Ibanez strung with lighter gauge strings? My personal experience is that heavier strings equals less fret noise.

3. Beta

Beta

May 9, 2007
    I've found that the angle of the attack differs greatly between picking and fingerstyle. It's easier for me to keep from digging in too much when using a pick.

I sometimes dig in too much when playing fingerstyle. This, I think, changes the direction of the string's vibration- basically, you're plucking up, so the string comes down, right into your frets.

Fender 5-strings are also known, if you believe the postings in the Basses forum, for having "floppy" B strings. Combine that with low action and a right hand that digs in, and you're going to hear a lot of clacking.

Playing closer to the bridge is not your answer, unless you're comfortable with the change in tone. Try to keep from digging in, and soften up your attack a little and see how it goes.

And, yeah, maybe heavier gauge strings are in order.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups