1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help With DI Recording Bass Guitar

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Ovechcro8778, Mar 29, 2013.

1. Ovechcro8778

Ovechcro8778

Mar 29, 2013
    Hello, this is my first post here. I've been playing electric guitar for 5 years, and I've just recently started learning bass guitar as well.

I have a Vintage Modified Fender Jazz Bass (no active electronics or pickups) and I'm currently recording directly into my Audio Kontrol 1 audio interface.

My tone sounds decent, but many people say that a preamp and a Di box will improve your tone significantly. My Audio Kontrol 1 has an instrument input. Does this mean my signal impendence is already fine, therefore negating the need for the DI box? Or does it mean I don't need a preamp? Or could I still benefit from both of them?

Basically, what I'm trying to ask, will buying a preamp and/or a DI box be worthwhile investments, when recording a passive bass into an instrument input on an audio interface?

Also, I was considering buying a $50 Art Tube MP preamp (if in fact, I do need it). Is it possible that buying a cheap preamp could make my tone worse?

Yes, I have read the FAQ, but I'm still confused about my specific situation.

Thanks in advance!

2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    The instrument input on your interface is a DI input, in most cases. There are exceptions, so you should check the manual for the interface, and look up its input impedance. If it's at least 500K or higher, like 1 Meg, you don't need a DI box.