1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help with finger numbness!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by PatTheAnchor, Jul 20, 2007.

1. Okay, about 1-2 months ago, I started playing the bass, and ever since then, I've realized my fingers become really numb in the morning, and I've gotten so upset that I've actually hit my hand against a wall to make it "wake up". I'm really worried that I might have carpal tunnel, and I'm only 14 (Carpal Tunnel is for adults). What really worries me too is that my dad has carpal as well, and I don't like feeling old at this age. :meh:

I've read similar topics on this forum, but it's in both hands, not just the picking-fingers. Is it because I'm not used to stretching my hand around the frets? My thumb and the joints near the wrist feel terrible when I stretch them around and play a scale; I thought it was bad at the time, but my teacher told me I was playing it right, and I kind of believe him. He said that I'm not used to it because I never played bass before and only played cello which required less extensions as the bass guitar does.

I'm a health-conscious guy, so I'm worried I'll need surgery, I've never needed surgery, only removing teeth which is different. This summer, to give you guys a background of what I've been doing, is playing video games, and on the computer. I dont think I've typed a lot, but that could be a possibility. What should I do? What can I do to help? Stretching? Hot/cold packs?

Please help, thanks.

2. Deacon_Blues

Deacon_Blues

Feb 11, 2007
    Finland