Help with frequency roll off on QSC please

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sanctum, Jun 13, 2002.

1. Ok, my QSC 1850HD poweramp has frequency roll off switches. Here is the manual quote about them:

"The low-frequency (LF) filter rolls off signals below either 30hz or 50hz. This improves bass performance by limiting sub-audio cone motion, making more power available for the speakers' rated frequency range."

It goes on to say the 50hz filter is good for most full range cabs. Here are the specs on my Eden cabs:

210XLT +/- 2db 48hz to 14khz       -6db @ 35hz
    115XLT +/- 2db 46hz to 14khz        -6db @ 38hz

So I had the filter set for 50hz as this seems to fit the range, but what about those last numbers? I'm a bit confused. Everything sounds ok to me, but as I'm new to this kind of option, I thought I'd ask. QSC says the 30hz filter is for subwoofers, which I dont consider these cabs to be.

2. ZuluFunk

ZuluFunk Supporting Member

Apr 14, 2001
    I'm not sure.

I think the freq of a low B is just over 30hz and a low E is like 41hz. I could be wrong and I'm sure to get jumped soon if I am.

Does this mean if I'm flat on my low B with the 30hz low pass filter engaged, I will hear nothing? No. I think it just filters the subharmonics.

I have mine set now with the 210 side cut off at 50hz and the other with my 115 cut off at 30hz.
    Using the low pass makes the signal tighter. Try doing a comparison and you probably won't be able to "hear" the difference. It's supposed to be better for your cabs to focus them on the frequency range of your fundamentals.
  3. Thanks man, I was just thinking of switching the 1x15 to 30hz tonite.

4. VicDamone

Jun 25, 2000
    I agree with ZuFu, and if we're wrong I'm sure will hear about it. I've got the 50Hz filter on going to the 2-10" which seemed to give it more focus. On the other hand the 1-18" subwoofer is wide open.
  5. geshel

Oct 2, 2001