Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help with learning to play URB

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Big K, Mar 3, 2004.

1. Big K

Big K

Mar 3, 2004
    Summerville SC
    I have been playing EB for about 15 yrs. I started with country gospel and then learned classic rock/blues. Most recently my cousin and I have been learning a lot of Brian Setzer's covers from both his orchestra and trio. We hope to possibly start a cover band in our area.
    I rented an URB from a local music store. It is a "Karl Reiser" 3/4 with ebony fretboard and tailpiece. It is a plywood bass. I ordered a Bassmax pickup from Bob Gollihur's website and it sounds okay to me. I'm using an old Barcus Berry preamp from the 80s my cousin had tucked away. I have been coming along pretty good with the slow songs and am getting better at the faster songs. I now am considering
    purchasing my own URB. I seem to like the Englehart swingmaster and ES 1 the best from what I have heard and for the price. Any suggestions? Also, what kind of strings should I get for this style of music? I think the rental bass has orchestra strings but am not too sure. Please post any info and opinions that could help me get started.
    Thank you. Kev

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    Kev, welcome to TB, a lot of the info that could help you is already posted in the form of Newbie Links, at the top of each section of that forum. Please take the time to read them, you'll be amazed by the amount of good advice and general info that's contained in those Newbie Links. Kays and Englhardt basses are covered too.

3. Big K

Big K

Mar 3, 2004
    Summerville SC
    Thank you. I didn't know there was a newbie link. I appreciate the help.

4. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France