Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help with Moving into different fretting positions

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by WillPlay4Food, Jul 8, 2002.

1. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    Help!

Background: I'm still a complete newbie to the bass. I've been playing for 3 months to the day today. I have an instructor, and we work out of Chuck Rainey's Complete Electric Bass Method (Vol. I, go figure :) ).

I'm on a piece now (key of C) that I play every bar until the last in 2nd position. For the last bar, I have to slide up the neck so my pinky can hit the 10th fret on D (C note, think this would be 7th pos.?), then hit E & D on the G string (7th & 9th frets), then finally hit fret 9 & 10 on D (B & C notes).

My problem is I can't get consistency sliding my hand down to those frets, and almost never on the first try. I've been working on this piece for two weeks, and while I think I'm getting better, I think I should have this down by now.

Do you folks know of any exercises / techniques I could use to nail down moving between positions? I've spent at least 14 hours on this piece alone (try to practice at least an hour a day, and always play at least once a day in general) and I'm starting to hear it in my dreams! I think if I have to play it much more I will drive the people around me insane! :eek:

Please help if you can.

2. eli

eli Mad showoff 7-stringer and Wish lover Supporting Member

Dec 12, 1999
    NW suburban Chicago