Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help with my 55-01!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by ODDBALL, Aug 12, 2005.

1. ODDBALL

ODDBALL Supporting Member

Mar 2, 2005
    Salida, CA
    I just got 2 weeks ago my 55-01. When I played it I noticed the action was to low. So I took it to a shop and they did a setup on it, tune, raise action to my likeing. (I am new at this)Well I was just woundering they didnt raise the pickups on it, should I raise them up a little. Or just leave them. I am not sure, Explain why or why not to raise them. Thanks for the help. :D

2. todd 4ta

todd 4ta

Apr 3, 2003
    Indiana
    My general rule for pickup height is to push the E string down on the last fret (closest to the neck pickup), and the bottom of the string should be from 1/16" to 1/8" above the top of the pickups. Repeat with the G string, at 1/16" above both pickups. That's a good starting point, and I probably wouldn't raise the pickups any higher than that.

3. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    Pickup height is a real personal thing. I like mine not so high that it feels like they're right on top of my fingers, but high enough so I get a tad hotter sound.

4. ODDBALL

Mar 2, 2005
    Salida, CA
    I will try that out thanks. :D How high or low is your pickups, and explain? :D (which is the way you like it) Might be a stupid question but I just want to learn more about it and hear others comment on it. Thanks for the info. :bassist:

5. ODDBALL

Mar 2, 2005
    Salida, CA
    bump in the night :D

6. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio