1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help with my first pedal build. (Flipster)

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by mjwhit, Mar 22, 2009.

1. This is my first build. I have done a bit of stuff before, guitar electronics etc but nothing like this.

Working on a flipster from runoffgroove.com.... but when i plug it in i just get a bit of noise(reasonably quiet), no guitar input, but for some reason when i touch the strings on my bass the noise will change.

EDIT=after some tinkering, I have very low output.
    Is it possible i put a wrong value capacitor somewere and its blocking these frequencies?

Ive double checked my layout and soldering, but now i dont know what to check now.

Could you guys give me some hints please?

Once i get it going i will add a bypass and an led, but one thing at a time.

Thanks in advance

DSC03259.
    DSC03261.
    DSC03262.
    and itl be going in here once its going
    DSC03264.

2. rcubed

rcubed

May 8, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    Wow, a trimpot for every transistor. Double check to make sure you have the proper orientation of the transistors. The gate, source and drain might be different. Check for solder bridges that might be shorting something out.

3. theyre facing the right way. i havnt used sockets for them though. any chance i may have fried one when i soldered them in?

4. Possibly. I've fried a few transistors when soldering at college.

5. rcubed

rcubed

May 8, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    Have you measured the voltage at the collector, making sure it's ~4.5V?

6. rratajski

rratajski Commercial User

Jul 1, 2008
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Builder for FUZZROCIOUS PEDALS
    Just for kicks, check the value of the resistors. Once, I had a big muff issue where I was letting too much signal go to ground b/c I threw a smaller resistor than I should've had in there...It sounds similar to your issue...