Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

help with my playing

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by Stephen S, Apr 10, 2002.

1. Stephen S

Stephen S Member

Apr 10, 2002
    San Bernardino, CA
    im 14 and ive been playing for about 8 months i love music and i love bass i have taught myself everything possible i bought books movies all that and taught myself all these things but i dont know were to go from here im very good for only playing for 8 months but i would like to enhance my playing ability i want to take my playing to the next level any tips?

2. Chip

Chip

May 2, 2000
    get a teacher :)
    they will teach you more than any books
    ...looking back at my book, its pretty simple (well most of it :D ) and books cant see what places you need to improve in and give you advice on how to fix it

3. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    As chip says, the best way forward is private tuition, if you can a) afford it and b) find a good teacher...

What you're asking me is what I get paid to show people hour by hour, one on one, listening to their playing and responding to their problems, questions, mistakes, strengths and weaknesses etc... It's not really possible to give you an answer that'd be worth having from such a broad question (that doesn't mean it wasn't worth asking, just that in this answer, hopefully you'll find some kind of way forward... :oops:)

If you have more specific questions about aspects of playing, they may be easier to answer in this forum...

sorry not to be more conclusive...

Steve
    www.steve-lawson.co.uk

4. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Yup. A teacher is so valuable.