1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help with new bass please :)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chika, Mar 14, 2013.

1. chika

chika

Mar 14, 2013
    Hi guys,

I'd like to purchase a new bass. The thing is that I'm in this small country in Europe (Serbia) where prices are high and choice is very limited.

I've been playing guitar for some time now, but would like to switch to bass, so I won't be a complete beginner. I will be playing blues, rock, soul and probably a bit of pop as well. Focus will surely be on blues and rock though. Whether it should be Precision or Jazz I don't know either.

I don't expect you to know what I can find in Serbia, but perhaps you can give me some general advice as to which model and brand I should look for in my price range. Ibanez, Yamaha, Schecter... are some of the brands I've seen in shops here or perhaps something else? I'm sure that the prices in Europe are more or less similar. I'd like to spend around 250 EUR (not much more than that). I know that my budget is very limited but it's what I have at this time. :)

Thanks!

2. topcat2069

topcat2069

Dec 2, 2007
    Palm Springs
    I had the 5 string version and the sound was great ..

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/schecter-guitar-research-diamond-p-custom-electric-bass-guitar

The pickups are strong and clear the neck is easy to play on and the build quality is top notch.... Great for Blues, Rock, R&B or just about anything....
    A recording of mine:

http://www.visualsoundrecording.com/PhilMusic.html

"Tied To A Woman" & "Time It Comes"

3. Labi

Labi

Jun 14, 2006
    Are you lookin for new exlusively or you might also consider used.
    If you don't mind used ones then might as well try this:
    http://www.kupujemprodajem.com/Bass-gitare-22-644-1-grupa.htm