1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help with power amp connections

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sleepwalker42, Feb 14, 2016.

1. Sleepwalker42

Sleepwalker42 Supporting Member

Dec 30, 2008
    Chicago
    Can a good soul give some advices? :)
    I'm new to these connections, here's the problem I'm experiencing: I just got a Crown XLS 1002 power amp and I'm trying to connect it to my cab (which has a 4Ω impedance) and preamp. It doesn't have the power that a 1000 W in bridge mode should have, feels like 100/200 Watts. By comparison I also have a 400W SWR Amplite so I'm misjudging power.
    I tried a couple different ways: connected banana plugs (in the middle 2 red connectors) to cabinet input female, and a regular guitar cable going from amp to preamp (tried also a 12 gauge type just for trying, same result). Is the little bridge that connects the 2 banana jacks on top a factor?
    Then I tried a Speakon, with ¼ jack on other end, from channel 1 amp to cab, same power. Where am I going wrong? Is there something wrong with the amp?

IMG_1742.JPG

Thanks
    Enzo

2. First Never ever use a power amp in bridge mode into a 1/4” phone plug. The risk of damage to the amp is too great. It’s also dangerous to you personally.

Using Banana connectors the load will be connected to the + connectors of both channels. There should be a switch somewhere on the back panel to put the amp into bridge mode. If not, you’ll need to read your amplifier’s user manual to find out what is required.

mbelue likes this.
  3. Here is the manual page 7 explains bridged mode. You have to set the amp for "Bridged mode" on the front panel. To use a speakon cable for your speaker you need to move the wire from the 1- connector position (negative to speaker) to the 2+ position in the amp end connector only, so lable that one amp only on your speaker cable.