1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

help with upgrading a crappy bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by black_devil, Sep 25, 2008.

1. black_devil

black_devil

May 8, 2007
    Hello

So i've searched alot and read alot on this forum, now i would like to ask for som recomendations.

I started playing bass about 2 years ago, i bought this cheap jazz bass copy (a harley benton from thomann). It has worked really well for praticing.

However, now i have started to record some of my playing and i have really started to notice just how awful it sounds. The tone is all muddy and it kind of sound like i'm playing thru a spring reverb.

I don't have the cash to buy a fender precision or music man stingray, and i don't think i've got the skills yet to justify owning one :)

Anyhoo, i would really like to know if anyone could recommend strings and pickups that i install to perhaps make the bass sound a little better? I mostly play (or try to play) 70's disco/funk stuff, not much slapping, just plain ol' fingerfunk.

Looking foward to hearing some suggestions.

2. This is a tough one to answer, but I'll take a shot. What are your tone settings on the bass? Basically what I'm looking for there is the blend of the bridge pickup and how much low frequency boost you're using. Emphasizing the bridge pickup can add a lot of brightness to the tone and that may help.

Brighter strings may help too, but are a bit inconsistent with the type of music you're interested in playing.

For what it's worth, my experience is that spending any money (beyond fresh strings) on a cheap instrument is like putting lipstick on a pig. While you're saving some money, try out as many other instruments as you can to get a good idea of exactly what you want. Hopefully by the time you've got money-in-hand, you'll have found the right instrument for you. Good luck!

3. Eilif