Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help with wiring diagram?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Scooch, Oct 20, 2005.

1. Scooch

Scooch

Mar 11, 2005
    Hi I'm new to the whole bass modifications scene and I was wondering if anyone could do me a huge favour and colour this diagram for me i.e. put in red lines for hot wires, grey lines for neutral lines, black for grounds and any other wires. I know I'm asking for a lot but if anyone could do this it would help me out tons!

[​IMG]

Taken from
    http://www.stewmac.com/freeinfo/I-0032.html

Which has a very good guide on electronics I suggest any people not understanding pickups/wiring read this.

Thanks!

2. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    sorry, it's impossible to make a generic coloring since different makes/models have different wiring - some are 2 wire, some are 4 wire etc, some are colored differently.

If you have a wiring question regarding a specific brand, provide more details and I'll be glad to help.

3. As a learning exercise, I suggest you start with the output jack. How many wires go to it? Which one is which? Trace the ground back from the output jack, see where it goes. Trace the hot wire back from the output jack, see where it goes.

Try to understand the connections to the volume and tone controls--so what would be connected to each one?

And if you look really hard, you'll see a minor omission on one of the volume pots...both pots should have the "top" terminal soldered to the case (the picture only shows the left case grounded)...

4. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Bill,
    Actually both volume pots would be grounded by the leftmost pot's lug being connected to ground, as the ground lugs are connected in that diagram.

5. Here you go.