1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help with Wooten type techniques.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by J. Crawford, Apr 19, 2009.

1. J. Crawford

J. Crawford Supporting Member

Feb 15, 2008
    OH/WV
    I have been playing for three years and have a great setup that I love very much. I just have one problem.

I can do every technique up to the Wooten-esque. I cannot double thumb, or anything of that nature. Tapping, harmonics, etc. I can pinch, but cant get a staight up harmonic.

In other words, THIS VIDEO shows what I want to be able to do, but cant. I have two bass teachers, but neither of them are fluent in this, IIRC.

Any tips? I have watched every video known to man.

2. Asher S

Asher S

Jan 31, 2008
    MA
    Is this what you're looking for?

It's all right there, it just takes a ton of practice, like anything else.

3. J. Crawford

J. Crawford Supporting Member

Feb 15, 2008
    OH/WV
    Thats it exactly. I have watched al of these videos many a times, and practiced along with them relentlessly.

It just wont click.

4. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    CHICAGO,IL.
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
    In the process of learning and trying to learn some of these techniques do you think you could stumble(or have stumbled) onto your own approach/voice and be happy with that(and no I'm not being sarcastic)?

5. Asher S

Asher S

Jan 31, 2008
    MA
    Please don't take this the wrong way, but you wrote "practiced along with them relentlessly" and "I have been playing for three years" ...

I've been playing for quite a bit longer than 3 years, and some techniques just take a really long time to internalize.