Dismiss Notice

Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, get alerts, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassPunk17X, Feb 7, 2001.

1. BassPunk17X

BassPunk17X

Feb 5, 2001
    I've been playing bass for about 3 1/2 years now and I'm 17 now. I don't know much about amps so I need some help. I have a Fender BassMan 400 combo and I play a 4 string Peavy Fretted bass and a 6 String Carvin fretless. My friends band played a show recently and they used my amp. They are a punk style group. Their bass player had to crank my amp up really loud in order for us to hear him, and when we could barely hear him, it sounded distorted. Can anyone tell me why or advise me to get a new setup? Everyone tells me to get Ampeg, Ampeg, Ampeg. Any comments? Also, are 4 10's better than 2 12's?

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

The Fender 400 should have been able to have been heard unless the guitarist had something outrageously loud like a Marshall stack and the drummer was ham handed. I doubt a Fender 400 can swim in those waters. I've played borrowed Bassmans and Dual Showmans and was never impressed by the volume.

I don't know which controls are among the several on your amp, but it could be how they were set in relation to each other. For instance, the gain may have been left too boosted while the volume/volumes were cranked up. Or a noise gate will kill volume.

Would you say the amp is louder and cleaner when you use it or would you have been drowned out if you were playing with the controls set the way you know how to use them? Also, the amps weren't miked or running through a PA?