Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jackaroe, May 15, 2002.

1. jackaroe

jackaroe

May 12, 2002
    I've only been playin for around 5 months, and just upgraded to a Yamaha BBN5 that i found pretty decent off ebay. Its my first time playin a 5, and i like it alot better. But sometimes theres like a metalic-ring/clang when i fret w/my left. Am i holding to hard or is something faulty?

2. cassanova

cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Florida
    Does it happen on all the strings? Does it happen when you play open strings or just when you fret?

3. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    It's hard to say - could you possibly give us more details?

If the noise didn't show up with your last bass, it likely isn't a technique problem. Sounds like your bass may need a setup job.

4. jackaroe

jackaroe

May 12, 2002
    it was basically just the 3d string, but its not that big of a deal. It doesn't happen all the time. I have a very stupid question though. Starting with the top string and going down, if played open what would be the notes?

5. Probably B E A D G

6. Thinnest=G
    Next=D
    Next=A
    Next=E
    Thickest=B

Is that what you mean?

It might be that the action is too low so that the string(s) hit the frets as the vibrate. So, how high is the action. That is, what's the distance between the underside of all the strings and the top of the last fret? They all should be nearly the same and, as a rough guide, you might be looking at 3 or 4 millimeters. Check the Yamaha web site. They supply online manuals for their basses. They're not that comprehensive, but setup dimensions are provided, I believe, with basic details as to how to set up the bass.

John

7. jackaroe

jackaroe

May 12, 2002