Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by leelee, Aug 30, 2000.

1. leelee

leelee

Aug 30, 2000
    I am just learning bass and am a bit confused with my scales. I know how to play them all no worries but, I don't know what to do with them, how to use them in solos etc...

2. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Try starting to learn some songs, any songs that you like, and start looking for where the bassists on those songs use scales, such as going from one chord to another. Eventually, you'll start to see how it all fits together.

Remember, scales aren't songs, and music is songs. All scales are are arrangements of notes we like to hear together in song form. That's not to say that learning scales is important, IT IS. Knowing them will help you navigate your way around quickly and easily when playing or learning songs. Practicing them will make playing them much more fluid and easy.

But, you should look at scales (and arpeggios, etcetera) as tools: hammers, saws, whatnot. If all you do is practice them, all you're doing is taking your tools out of the box and polishing them, then putting them back. You gotta BUILD something with them to get good use out of them. First learn how others do it, figure out songs you like, preferably by ear (ear training is another extremely valuable skill). Figure out how that other person built that box, picture frame, or whatever. Then you can start to see how to use the tools to build your own box, or bird house, or whatever it is you wish to build. Eventually you can get to the mansion building stage hopefully....I'm still working on that one :). Good luck.

3. cassanova

cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Florida