Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help =)

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by stingkt14u, Oct 31, 2002.

1. stingkt14u

stingkt14u

Oct 31, 2002
    Boardman Ohio
    Hey everyone. I was thinking about purchasing a double bass sometime before/during this upcoming year. I have been playing for the past 6 years and I have been attending a school where I have been privelged with the opportunity to only have to rent an insturment. Unfortunately, I am going to be moving to a new district that doesnt have an orchestra but I continue on playing. I don't really know a whole lot about double basses so any information you could give me would be greatly appreciated!

2. Jeff Bollbach

Jeff Bollbach Jeff Bollbach Luthier, Inc.

Dec 12, 2001
    freeport, ny
    All certified Talk Bass teachers take off points for not doing your homework.

3. If you're planning to buy a double bass, be sure to get one with a neck and a fingerboard, and with at least three or four strings stretched tightly down the neck and across a bridge thingie, and securely attached at the bottom part. Almost all the double bass pros here use this kind of bass and it is probably the best way to get a decent sound.

seriously, Stingky, what Jeff is saying is: hey, you've got the computer and the internet connection, and you've found your way to Talk Bass. So do a little work. In old posts there is a wealth of information here which will help you. Read it ALL, take notes, think about your needs and preferences, and then, and only then, for the things you're not sure about come back here with specific questions and and enough background so readers can understand where you're coming from.

You'll find plenty of help will be available.

4. stingkt14u

stingkt14u

Oct 31, 2002
    Boardman Ohio