Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ZenBass, May 20, 2003.

1. Hiya fellow Talkbass people.

I need some help, my band is finally starting to go some people and we have landed some pretty high class gigs around the UK mainland which is great but my rig now leaves a lot to be desired. My current Setup is

Trace Elliot GP7S10 Bass Head and
    Trace Elliot 1x15 Bass Cab with Tweeter

was using a Marshall 4x10 ontop of the 1x15 but this was on loan from a friend and had to give it back (but to be honest wasnt bowled over with the sound)..

I need to expand my my bass rig to comfortable cope with large gig venue but being a uni student i do not really have the capital to get exactly what I want. I have looked on and although there are some really good examples about of Trace Elliot gear (which is where i really want to stay) I cannot afford to cost.

I would like any suggest for inexpensive but high quality 4x10 cabs

If I used a power amp running into my Trace Elliot head acting as the Pre-Amp and EQ into my speaker cabs would this be a suffcient way of boosting power.. ?..

Thank you, I know it rushed but i am getting worried as my first big gig is only just over three-four weeks away..

Best Regards

Ben Howard :confused:
  2. I forgot to mention I only have around £400 to spend, which isnt much

my ideal setup would be

Trace Elliot AH300 Head
    Trace Elliot 1048
    Trace Elliot 1518

But as you can imagine even second hand this is very costly... :rolleyes:
  3. Planet Boulder

Planet Boulder Hey, this is a private Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2001
    6,482 feet above sea level
    I once had impure thoughts. Oh, and I pluck my ear hair.
    Okay - lemme see if I can help out here. I have some Trace stuff, so I've got some experience, at least with the heads.

Assuming your quote: