Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

HELP

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by SpiderMan, Dec 20, 2000.

1. SpiderMan

SpiderMan

Dec 20, 2000
    I am very new to the bass and am just starting to feel comfortable playing with some friends. I was wondering if there were any excercises I should be working on to improve my playing. I know this is kind of vague but anything anyone might suggest for a beginner would be much appreciated. Also, who are bassists I should be listening to? I have a Black Market by Weather Report with Jaco Pastorius and I enjoy both Les Claypool and Mike Gordon. Any bass playes I should be listening to?

2. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Spidey -

I'd recommend taking the time and spending the money to find a good teacher. We could give you some suggestions and pointers here, but nothing will take the place of someone who's right there to help you out. You haven't filled out your profile, so we don't know where you are, it's just possible that one of the other members could help you find a great teacher near you, if not teach you themselves (if you're near Orlando, FL, I teach :D). If you have any specific questions, ask away and we'll be happy to help as best we can. Good luck!

3. SpiderMan

SpiderMan

Dec 20, 2000
    Hey Gard,

Thanks for your post. I really appreciate it. Unfortunately, I am from Boston. I am new member so where would I fill out my profile?