Here is a thinker

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Coutts_is_god, Feb 16, 2005.

1. Coutts_is_god

Coutts_is_god Guest

Dec 29, 2003
    Windsor, Ont, Canada
    I've been playing bass for something like 4 years. I go to the music store and play the bass'. I of course play the Fenders, Warwick, Godin ect. I'm never comfortable with the necks. Now I play a squier p bass. Do you think the reason I am not comfortable with these other neck is because I am still using a beginner bass? Or might it be because I haven't found the right bass?

2. RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    IMO, you just haven't found the right bass.
  3. DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    perhaps you should think about what you DONT like in the way those basses play. then you can look for basses without those qualities.

but will pick up a bass and know "thats the one". and that day is a beautiful day.
  4. iriegnome

iriegnome Bassstar style Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2001
    Kenosha, WI 53140
    Great point :hyper: Narrow down what you are really happy with and what you hate about all of them. Neck size, radius, number of controls, body shape and everything else. Materials and finish and everything else you can think of.

Sep 13, 2000
    Los Angeles, CA
    Is your Squire a full scale bass?
  6. Coutts_is_god

Coutts_is_god Guest

Dec 29, 2003
    Windsor, Ont, Canada
    Yes it is.
    I realy don't like alot of knobs. I don't like worrying my self to death about scratches. I really like P-bass' but I am a little put off about the neck. I can't find Maple neck P-bass anywhere. I can't even find a natural bodied one. I'm not really wanting to change a battery. Anything higher then 4 strings scares me:D I need it to go from heavy metal like Black Label society, to rock and roll, hip hop, funk and just plain old modern rock. Any new thoughts?
  7. CaracasBass

Jun 16, 2001
    Madrid, Spain
    BLS = P-Bass

Good luck in your searching!!!
  8. iriegnome

iriegnome Bassstar style Supporting Member