Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hey All! Im a new guy here, and Have a question to ask

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dansbass, Sep 27, 2004.

1. Hey everybody!

My name's Dan and Im a newbie member here, this is my first post, very exciting!! I know Joe who posts here (the one with the Beneventes!) and I hope I can help a few people out and learn something new!!

Anyway on with my question!

I will hopefully be getting a new bass around the christmas/new year period, and Ive been looking around too see what good, left handed basses there are in my price range. So far, I've been looking at a Fender Standard P-Bass to go with my Jazz Bass and the Schecter Diamond series basses, which are within my price range, have humbuckers (which Ive been looking for) and come in lefthanded - the most important thing!

However, there are three options available with the Schecter. There is a five string, a six string and an Eight string. Now, I have some limited experience with five string basses and I have to say I like them. Im quite interested in the six string, because I reckon it would be good for experimentation with chord work in songs I write with my band. The unknown entity is the eight string, which I have never really looked at before due to me not being able to find them in lefthanded, but now Ive found one, Im very interested!!

So I have three questions:

1) Has anyone here had experience of Schecter Basses and would like to share what they thought of them

2) Which version do you think I should go for of the three schecters? - the five, the six or the eight? Or should I go for the PBass?

and 3) How difficult is playing an eight string compared to a four string? I play with fingers mainly and would like to know if its much more diffucult that playing a four before I even think of buying one!!

Thanks in advance

Dan

2. john turner