Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hey everyone need help!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Mikey96, Apr 21, 2001.

1. Im no expert on bass amps so I need everyone's advice.

I was in this pawn shop today and saw a peavey bass amp 160 watts for 495 bucks. a) is this a good price its used but looks fine b) is it loud enough to play a decent sized venue (they told me it was but I trust u guys more)

thanks for the help!

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

The model would be helpful.

If it is a TNT 115, they are very loud amps, but the price is too high for a used one. I have the older TNT 130(130 watts through a Black Widow driver) and played gigs with it, including outdoor gigs with a metal band for years before I bought my SWR.

If it has the Black Widow speaker, and is in great shape, it would be worth between $400 - $450 tops. Personally, I wouldn't pay over $400, and it would have to look and sound new for me to do that.

If it has the Scorpion Plus, Sheffield, or no name speaker, it would be worth $300 at the absolute max, and that's if it is in great shape.

I see the non-BW models all the time for $200 - $250 used, and an occasional BW model for $375 - $425, used.

Pawn shops will haggle, just be prepared to walk out without the amp if they won't come down in price.

3. DUBZ

DUBZ

Aug 28, 2000