Hey Guitarists!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by The Golden Boy, Dec 18, 2004.

1. Kind of in response to the Talk Guitar thread...

I was wondering who else likes playing guitar as well as bass, and what you're using for a rig.

I'm primarily a bass player- I started playing bass, I'm a much better bass player than guitar player, I play much like a bass player playing guitar... For the first 3-4 years I played bass only, then I started playing guitar- but joined my first "real" band as a bass player. While I was in the Army I played mostly bass when I jammed with bands or whatever- but always had a guitar around. When I got out of the Army I played guitar in a few regionally successful bands, and then went on to play mostly bass in bands after that.

Right now I'm playing guitar very part time (until last week, our last practice was in June or July) in a band that's been around forever and a cool bunch of guys. My main guitars are a 2001 Les Paul 1958 Reissue and a 1965 Epiphone Olympic with a P-90 in it. My main rig is a 1977 Marshall cab and either a 1981 50w Park head or a 1978 50w Marshall head. The Park/Marshall rig looks amazingly similar to this:

Anyone else?

EDIT: I forgot to mention effects. I'm not too big on effects, but I occasionally use an Ibanez CS-9 chorus and I also use a Barber Direct Drive pedal for overdrive/volume boost.
  2. hetsscaryguy

May 22, 2004
    i play a bit of guitar these days. i started on guitar and moved to bass. i still only have 2 crappy guitars a squier strat and an oakman acoustic. but its enough. lately i find myself playing acoustic a lot. its musch easier to write stuff on acoustic i feel and its always good for a sing along at a party.
  3. I'm playing this:

Through this:

4. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    What did you call me?