Hey I'm looking for an advise!!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by vene-nemesis, Jul 13, 2004.

1. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    Hi well i dont really think this thread belongs here, but anyway I'll be talking about my bass so here it goes.

Today i was listening to My Own Summer (Deftones) when i realised I needed to play a little more on drop D tuning, so I D-tuned my fourth string and started playing Creed's Thorn and everything was alright, then i started playing My Own Summer and realized that when I press the strings against the fretboard i get a metal-against-metal sound (plz dont tell me that the strings are metallic and the frets too, Im not that idiot).

Someone tollme once that I neede to play lighter but once i got the light touch the sound was still there

I have a MIM Jazz V, BEADG sometimes tuned BDADG (i dont use the low b on this tuning) with warwicks black label 45-135. I set the bass with the lowest action posible and intonated it and nothing. I use my practice amp a lot its a berihger bx1200 100w aluminium cone. I only use my fingers to play.

So my questions are how can I avoid the fret presing "click"? Why when i hear any studio recorded track i cant hear the fret presing not even in the fast solos played in the low b string?. IS it a problem with my EQ, do i need a limiter/enchancer boss pedal? or a 7 band EQ boss pedal? Does anyone out there has the same prob under same conditions (or similar)?

I do really need help.
  2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    Uh, this *whole site* is about bass, but this isn't about Basses.

Moved to Technique...
  3. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España

Plz move it back to bass, i'm asking for bass set-up too
  4. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ