HEY! Oh, and tuner help?!?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CactusJack, Jan 3, 2003.

1. Just figured I'd say Hi coz I'm new to the forum!

Actually I'm new to the whole bass thing....only been playing 3 months! I started playing on my dad's old Pale Blue 60's Futurama! Totally sucked...but it had a certain 'Pimp-Daddy' kind of quality!

After I nailed a few songs, I figured I'd upgrade a bit. So I just got an Ibanez BTB405QM. Which was just within my budget, and I really like it. If anyone else has the same guitar or has played one then I'd like to hear your opinions on it!

Also, can anyone recommend a good guitar tuner? I obviously can't tune by ear yet...and I spose I'm kinda lazy anyway!

Thanks for reading my post, and any help given will be appreciated!

2. Groovski

Sep 20, 2002
    My happy place
    Congrates for the new bass and welcome to TB (TalkBass).
    I used to have a 5 string Ibanez SR504 or something like that and I eventually traded it for an amp.
    I have a Yamaha BB1600 4 string and a Peavey Cirrus 5 string and an Uprightthat I play on stage.
    As far as a tuner, go to any music store and you'll be able to fine one fairly inexpensive. Good luck with your playing.
  3. Hey there, welcome :)

Like Groovski said, going to your local music store would be ideal, and I'd recommend a Korg. I don't know the model, but it's a rectangle shape, and silver - It has a bunch of notes you can use for tuning (C, B, E, A, D, G and some others).

G'luck, and happy bass playing :)
  4. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    Uh, i do belive that every tuner has all the notes needed. Just any tuner will do. korg is good, but it's not NEEDED, Just go look at tuners, they all do the same job. A kork will last forever , though.
  5. Mazinger

Mazinger Supporting Member

Nov 9, 2002
    My favorite to use is a korg gt-3 tuner.

It's all auto, no switching at all. Just turn on the power and tune away.