Hey ska-dudes please check this out!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by frankencow150, Dec 15, 2001.

1. frankencow150

frankencow150 Guest

Oct 17, 2001
    Hey,I wanna start making up some ska lines(you should know if you ever checked out my creating good basslines thread).Well are there any certain scales that ska bassists use?Some bands I'm thinking of are:

Less than Jake
    Save Ferris
    Mustard Plug
    Catch 22

Any help is appreciated!:D
  2. old_skool

Aug 17, 2000
    Milwaukee, WI
    sorry i dont know the name of it. matt freeman from rancid uses it all the time.

3. Velkov

Jan 17, 2001
    Lansdowne, Ontario
    That's called the A major scale. I don't mean to be a smarta$$ or anything but looks like some people could benefit from learning some theory.;)
  4. frankencow150

frankencow150 Guest

Oct 17, 2001
  5. I am by no means a ska expert (I only like DHC, everything else is annoying to me), but isn't most if it just scales over the chords. Bassically walking lines, with less discipline.
  6. old_skool

Aug 17, 2000
    Milwaukee, WI
    hey Velkov dont worry about it. i didnt see you post anything of use though. did i help at all? it is a useful scale and i know i have a lot of learning to do but i was trying to help all that i could.
  7. Jeff Moote

Jeff Moote Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2001
    Beamsville, ON, Canada
    yes but you posted tAbZ for a major scale!!! That really has very little worth.
  8. old_skool, that is a major scale, that is the most basic scale. Every musician uses that. Its what all other chords, scales, and even keys are built off of.

From what I have heard, I believe ska bassists just use basic major, and minor scales. Not positive though. They just throw in some cool riffs over them. I dont listen to ska too much
  9. old_skool

Aug 17, 2000
    Milwaukee, WI