1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Hi all... need amp suggestions...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by davenit, Apr 5, 2009.

1. davenit

davenit

Oct 3, 2008
    Well, I started playing Bass about a year ago. I play in two bands, both rock/metal 80's,90's, 00's... We play in clubs that can hold from 200-500. The guitar player jams through a splawn at about 4 (loud but not very loud) and we never have volume wars (we're all older guys - lol). I've been playing through our singers Fender bass head and 4x10. It's time for me to get my own rig.

I've been a 6 string player since I was a wee lad but have really loved the switch to playing Bass. It's not only taught me time feel better than any practice I could ever do on 6 string, it's given me a greater appreciation for Bass in it's own right.

Well, enough of that. What head/cab can I get for around $1000 that will work in my situation. I am very open to rack gear also. I was hoping to stick with a 2 x as I travel in a small car and lugging a 4 x might be problematic.

Thanks guys and gals...

Dave

2. davenit

davenit

Oct 3, 2008
    Oh, I should add that I have checked past posts and gotten some info from it, but not exactly what I was hoping to get in my price range. Thanks again.

3. VisualShock

VisualShock

Feb 19, 2008
    North Wales
    Well, I play a 1x12 Fender Rumble, kicking out 60 watts, and the tone on it is nice and warm, but gives a little punch if you ask it nicely... if you were looking to go down the combo route, I'd recommend

http://www.google.co.uk/products?hl...a=X&oi=product_result_group&resnum=1&ct=title

however, having a 2x10 and amp in one package may be a little weighty, especially if you're not so hot on heavy lifting.
    A simmilar story appears with this Ashdown