1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

HI! from the Philippines :D

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by malayayu, Nov 1, 2010.

1. malayayu

malayayu

Nov 1, 2010
    I've been a bassist for about two years, since I was 14, and we've recently started gigging this year. :hyper: I tried to learn the guitar at 11, got depressed at how slow I was learning and stopped, then stopped for about a year.
    I picked the guitar up again at grade 6 to help a friend out, and was surprised at how fast I learned. :D
    My dad bought a bass for his solo recordings and I wasn't really interested until someone asked me to join a band battle, it was my first one and we won 3rd place.:cool:
    I realized that the bass is a totally undervalued and underrated instrument, and there're lots of great bassists out there.
    I could never really feel what I was playing with the guitar, I didn't like being in the limelight; I wanted to stay behind and I wanted people to feel what I was playing without being in their face, I felt that I can totally express myself by playing bass.
    I now play in a pop punk band >_> though what I really want to play is Funk and Bebop.

tl;dr: bass is good.
    -life story aside, I joined talkbass because I KNOW that interacting with other players can help me grow as a bassist, and I hope that you can welcome me even though I bored you all to death. :)
    here are my guitars,
    Benjamina
    23823_1403294801630_1210162104_31162863_3054193_n.
    and Jacky
    23823_1403294881632_1210162104_31162865_4094697_n.
    Well, they're not really mine, they're my dad's... but a guy can dream, can't he? XD

2. Boot Soul

Boot Soul

Feb 10, 2009