Hi!I'm new here.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by John Paul Jones, Dec 6, 2002.

1. John Paul Jones

John Paul Jones

Dec 6, 2002
    Just wanna say hello to all the bassplayers I can at once.Usually I'm the only one around me so I don't get to talk with many who do the same thing.

I've been playing Bass since I was 13 and now I'm 32 soon to be 33.I consider myself as a self taught player since I've done more research on my own than music lessons.However,I tried to take as much formality and apply it to my playing.

A few years ago I was in an accident which prevented me from playing and practice for about a year and a half.I was doing a gig here and there but had some pain to deal with and lost a lot of capability and severely became out of practice.

in 1998 until now I've been playing everything from originals to covers.Lately I'm in about 4 gigs and the music varies from Elvis to Modern Rock Deep purple ,Stones ,Zep etc.

My playing is acceptionally well but I'm not at my best ability and can't do the improv thing like I used to.Some songs my buddies put me on the spot by forcing me to take solos but I don't feel comfortible or confident even over 3 chord progressions.I do okay I guess but it's not like prior to my car accident when I was a more aggressive musician.This needs to change for me.

None of my bands rehearse.Nobody has time either.Sometimes we show up at the gigs and just play whatever is called.It's a challenge and somewhat adventurous but it pisses me off that when I play with so many good players we can make ourselves not sound very professional at times.Other times things just rock espically when we've played a tune a few times but everything could improve.