Hi TB! Back-up amp/FRFR question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Band Mom, Oct 2, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Band Mom

Band Mom Not Actually a Mom

Oct 2, 2017
    Austin, TX
    Hi Folks,
    First time poster/long time lurker here. So, I'm interested in a backup solution, and I'm trying to narrow down my search by getting some advice from you guys.

First, my current live setup: P-bass -> Line6 Helix LT -> Mesa D800+ -> Schroeder 212PL 4 ohm. I run this in 4CM and my primary patch has a pre-amp bypass (through the Mesa's fx loop) to instead use the modeled Mesa 400+ preamp block that has a fairly sizable difference in gain and EQ. As the D800+ is single channel, this is my semi-workaround to create a virtual second channel.

My current band could maybe be described as "heavy alt-rock", and I have no plans to replace my current rig because I love most everything about it. But seeing as my day job is in the technology field, my concern is that both the the D800+ and Helix are fairly complicated pieces of machinery from a technical standpoint, and my experience is that the greater degree of engineered features in a piece of gear/software/computer, the higher the chance of potential failure. That said, I've never had a single problem with my current setup that wasn't due to "user error" :)

So, here are possible avenues I'm exploring:

Back-up bass head: My requirements are that it 1) is tonally and within the ballpark to my current settings on the D800+ (mid-heavy, medium bass, dialed-back treble) with small (but loud) gig level volume. 2) Is either 2 channel or has an fx loop. 3) Can fit in the secondary storage of my Helix backpack (~12"x14") or comes with its own gig bag. 4) Costs less than a D800+, as this is a backup, not a replacement. I'm looking at maybe a Peavey Minimax or something around that caliber.